MarcusEHarvey

“Satan, you were defeated on the cross.”

In Uncategorized on July 28, 2013 at 9:08 pm

Here are some highlights I’ve excerpted from a sermon today entitled “Have You Claimed Your Full Birthright?” by Pastor Zac Poonen, given at Abundant Life Christian Fellowship in Mountain View, California:

“There’s no reason for Satan to have power over you, he was completely defeated on the cross. I remember counseling a young lady who I was leading to Christ and I asked her to say to the devil, like I always do to new believers, ‘Say to the devil “You were defeated on the cross”.’ And there was this demon inside her, I didn’t even know that, who spoke back to me and said ‘I WAS NOT DEFEATED ON THE CROSS!’ I said ‘Wow, I thought this was an ordinary young woman!’ So, when a demon speaks to me I speak to the demon; I told the demon ‘Get out of her, you were defeated on the cross! Get out of her right now in Jesus’ name!’ It took only five seconds and the demon left. And now I said to her ‘Say to the devil “You were defeated on the cross.” And she said it, ‘Satan, you were defeated on the cross.’ What she needed was not counseling but deliverance; and the moment she was delivered she could tell the devil to his face ‘You are defeated.’ I want you to say that to Satan; I say it to Satan many times: ‘You are defeated on the cross.’ ‘Resist the devil and he will flee from you;’ he won’t walk away from you, he will flee! That’s a stronger word than run; he will flee away from you. But you must realize he was defeated on the cross. ‘Sin shall not rule over you!’ Grace has got power to lift you up!”

satandefeated1

“He sets a table before us, not after removing our enemies, but in the presence of our enemies. Isn’t that even more wonderful? With the enemies out there, waiting to destroy us, the Lord says ‘Don’t worry about them; let’s have breakfast. Sit down here with Me.’ That’s what God does, because they’ve been defeated, they can’t touch us.”

“Isn’t it a good thing, God uses the devil? The other day my grandson was lying in bed and asked me a question, he said ‘Why does God allow Satan to exist if he can destroy you?’
I said ‘Because when we fight with someone we become stronger, and God allows Satan to fight with us so we become spiritually strong.’
He was so excited to hear that. ‘Hey, I can become strong when Satan comes to fight with me!’
Isn’t it wonderful to know that when you’re seven years old? Isn’t it wonderful to know that at least now there there’s a purpose in every trial? In every messenger of Satan that’s troubling you in whatever it is, you can be an overcomer. You can be triumphant, because God’s grace will make you a more Christ-like person without that problem being removed. More Christ-like than if the problem never existed. That’s the wonderful message of the Gospel. That’s why Paul could say ‘In all things, we are more than conquerers…'”

Here are links to audio and video of this sermon.

Leave a Reply

